Uncle Sam Showed Up on Our Front Porch

I arrived home from work yesterday to find a package outside the door. Happy day! The good folks at Attune were kind enough to send me all three flavors of their Uncle Sam cereal to try. Vore and I were glad to be Guinea pigs.

Here’s the skinny:

  • The recipe is more than 100 years old.
  • It’s wheat flakes rolled, toasted and flattened, with whole flax seeds mixed in.
  • Labeling used to read, “Natural Laxative Cereal” because it’s got a crap ton of fiber. Pun absolutely intended.

So, what’s a girl to do with three boxes of healthy cereal on her hands? Crack them all open and sample, logically. I did the unofficial taste test first (the second I opened the box) then I got Vore in on the game this morning. Would you believe we had the same favorite? The winner, friends, is…Strawberry?!?

We both thought we would hate the Strawberry and each independently crowned it most flavorful. Vore also declared that the Honey Almond flavor “tastes like Rice Krispy Treats.” Go figure.

One caveat: all three flavors have A LOT of whole flax seeds in there. To like this cereal, you’re going to need to like flax.

I incorporated the Strawberry in my breakfast this morning.

Egg whites with spinach and red peppers + pear topped with sunflower butter and Uncle Sam. There is sure to be more cooking with cereal soon…I do have three open boxes. Protein bars? I think so.

Leave a Reply

