Cheater’s Taco Dinner.

No matter how Martha Stewart I try to be, there are days when I am busy. This week I am b-u-s-y.

There’s just not time to make a full meal like I do most of the time. But we’ve still go to eat and, even being stretched for time doesn’t make my mantra “eating out makes you fat and poor” any less true. Tacos are my ace in the hole.

Today I went with the ultimate cheat–no cooking! That means Whole Foods rotisserie chicken for Vore and beans from the freezer for me. It came together in a flash. Here are a few of our  other go-tos for a fabulous taco bar:

Taco features for Vore: 

  • Ground turkey meat with taco seasoning
  • Steak strips, sold at Whole Foods as “stir fry meat”
  • Shredded Rotisserie chicken*

*Veggies, this stuff kind of smells. A lot. Might I recommend shredding a bird on trash day and getting the bony leftovers out of your house, stat? Pack in an airtight container in the fridge and you’ll be stink-free.

Taco features for Veggie: 

  • Tofu cubes
  • Beans
  • Grated tempeh, cooked like taco meat

Toppings we love to share: 

  • Salsa
  • Sour Cream
  • Skillet roasted corn
  • Red pepper strips
  • Stir fry mushrooms and onions

What’s your go-to meal in a hurry?

2 thoughts on “Cheater’s Taco Dinner.

Leave a Reply

