Say “Hey” to the Croquette

Some might consider me a Cooking Light fan girl. 

In my stash of go-to recipes, you’ll find no small number of Cooking Light creations. When my monthly issue arrives, I read it cover to cover, dog-ear, then experiment. Here’s the story of one such adventure: Potato, Mushroom and Leek Croquettes. 

Getting started: The fresh line up

The croquette holds a special place in my heart. As a child, my grandparents would often take me to a meat-and-three called The Pioneer. It had a waterfall, a playful waiter who pulled my ponytail and a delicacy we called the “squash puff.” I was in love.

The squash puff was really a croquette, but “puff” rolls off the tongue much easier for a 5-year-old. These were crunchy fried goodness–heavenly–and kind of terrible for you.

Given my love for the puff/croquette as a genre, you can imagine how excited I was to see a healthier version in Cooking Light’s Super Fast section. Yukon golds and mushrooms? Bring it on.

Inspiration struck to make these beauties on a Saturday afternoon. I got the patties ready to rock and roll, then stored them in the fridge until I was ready to pan fry them for our Sunday lunch. A little pre-planning took “super-fast” to the next level.

I followed the recipe closely, save these small substitutions:

  • I used portobello mushrooms in place of the cremini/button combo.
  • Pre-shredded Swiss/Gruyere blend made prep work a breeze.
  • Brown rice flour took the place of all purpose.

The results where divine! A crunchy layer on the outside gives way to a creamy middle.This experiment was declared a success.

 

Our plates were balanced with black beans + beet greens (left over from Farro Salad) and carrots. Vore had a pork chop for good measure.

Leave a Reply

