Italian White Bean Cakes

Bean cake served with broccoli, cherry tomatoes and Kefir Cornbread

Vore got a last minute call for a boy’s trivia night. You see a lonely wife. I see opportunity!

While I don’t love hanging solo all the time, every once in a while is grand–it creates prime time for experimentation. Today’s tinkering came out tasty, if I don’t say so myself.

Italian White Bean Cakes

1 1/2 cups cooked canellini beans*

*mine came from dry beans, but this equals one can

1/4 cup liquid egg whites

1 tablespoon Rondele garlic and herbs spreadable cheese

1 tablespoon fresh basil, chopped

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

2 tablespoons brown rice flour

1/4 cup onion, sautéed.

1/4 cup mozzarella cheese

*In a large bowl, coarsely mash your beans.

*Stir in egg whites, Rondele cheese, basil, salt and pepper. Stir well until combined.

*Rice flour comes next. Mix until evenly distributed.

*Now add the onion and mozzarella.

*Form 4 patties. The mixture is pretty wet, so I’m guessing you’d have trouble rolling these with your hands. I just scooped my patties into the hot skillet and got them nice and round there in the pan.

*Pan fry the patties over medium high heat until both sides are a golden brown. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Italian White Bean Cakes

  1. These look great and gluten free as well. Wonderful! Are you going to post the recipe for the cornbread too? I am looking for the ultimate cornbread recipe and would like to try this one. Keep up the great recipes! Love it!

Leave a comment