I love this jar.

I’m a little nutty about waste. As in, I will go great lengths to avoid contributing to our trash.

Poor Vore. For the first couple of months of our marriage, I would run behind him, pulling recyclables from the trash and saying, (in my best holier-than-though tone) “We recycle!”

Like it or not, he’s a recycler now, too.

Think back to the logo on your recycle bin. You know, the one with the three arrows? REUSE is on there too. That’s where my jars come in.

We go through lots of almond butter, salsa and spaghetti sauce, all packaged in glass. Why would you throw a perfectly good container in the trash? I use these guys a million ways. Here are the top 5:

  1. Storage for my bulk bin goodies, as seen in the image above.
  2. Vessel for liquid lunches. Soup, anyone?
  3. Low-to-the-table vase. Tie a ribbon around a jar for Shabby Chic lovely.
  4. DIY salad dressing shaker.
  5. Protein powder transport. After your workout, add water and shake.

Do you reuse glass jars? What’s your favorite way to reincarnation?

19 thoughts on “I love this jar.

  1. I love collecting and reusing glass jars. I use them mostly to ferment my nut cheeses and make rejeuvelac. They also make for nice packaging when I want to gift someone cookie mixes or home made spice powders.

    I also save all my glass bottles. They make for very cool photo holders. Just roll up a photograph and slip it in through the mouth of the bottle. Then use tieback of a spoon or your finger (if it gets through the mouth) and gently expand the rolled photo. I’ve made a series of my nephew growing up and have lined them up on my window sill. Everyone who comes home is taken by the idea. 🙂

  2. Ooh, I love the photo idea! And all of your storage and decor ideas. I buy huge jars of applesauce and use those as a countertop compost container. I also pour fat/grease from cooking into the jars and keep them in the freezer for easy disposal later.

  3. I AM OBSESSED with jars 😉 I reuse for everything….I have the tiny little 4 oz jars I use for left over sauce, small amounts of veggies, etc. Both my fridge AND pantry are stalked with them…….

  4. Pingback: Baking inspiration « A new story…

  5. Pingback: Homemade Seasoned Bread Crumbs |

  6. Pingback: Father’s Day Recap + Easy Berry Infused Liqueur |

  7. Pingback: How We Save Money: The Weekly Shop-N-Chop | The Veggie Vore

Leave a Reply

