Freggie Fundraiser.

Fundraiser. Blarg.

It seems they are a little stale. Wrapping paper, popcorn, donuts, coupon books, cookie dough. Can I just write you a check instead? But this fundraiser…totally my speed.

A couple of weeks ago, the youth ministry stopped in our Sunday School class, asking us to sign up for bags of fruits and veggies. I went to pick mine up this morning and I have to tell you…it felt like opening the mystery basket on Chopped! I was stupid excited when I walked in the door, making Vore open the contents with me. He played along.

For $20 I got the following, all fresh from the Farmer’s market. Well, except the bananas/mango. I don’t think those grow in Sweet Home Alabama!

  • 2 red bell peppers
  • 4 potatoes
  • 3 pieces of zucchini
  • 5 squashes
  • a banana pepper
  • 3 enormous sweet potatoes
  • a package of baby plums
  • 3 peaches
  • a mango
  • 4 bananas
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 4 ears of corn
  • 4 limes
  • 3 onions
  • a bunch of cilantro

 

Holy goodness that is a lot of food! After dancing around with joy, I took my freggies in and washed them with a new method I saw on Pinterest. (Thanks, Dory!) Basically, fill your sink with water, stir in a cup of vinegar and watch the funk come off your fruit.

Then I got to cooking. The limes/corn/onion/tomato/cilantro were begging to go in a salsa. And that’s just what I made! Recipe coming tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Freggie Fundraiser.

  1. Pingback: “Uno de Juno” Farmer’s Market Salsa |

Leave a Reply

