Homemade Seasoned Bread Crumbs

What do you call this thing?

Until last year, I never knew it had a name. I always referred to it as “the end piece.” Apparently it’s called a bread heel. Who knew?

No matter what you call it, most of us don’t eat it. It’s a little too much crust. That said, I don’t like throwing food away. I’ve been amassing quite a collection in my freezer. Yesterday, I decided to put the heels to good use, making bread crumbs. Three cheers for a less processed version of the stuff you buy in the box!

Homemade Seasoned Bread Crumbs

Crumbs, pre-bake

Ingredients: Bread Heels (I had 6 of varying sizes); olive oil in a spray bottle; garlic salt, Italian seasoning, sage

*Place your bread heels in a food processor, and grind to a fine crumb.

*Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper; spray with olive oil. (If you don’t have a Misto, you so need one. You’ll never use that nasty Pam stuff again.)

*Spread crumbs in a single layer on the cookie sheet. Sprinkle with seasonings.

*Toss to coat, then give your crumbs another light olive oil spray.

*Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes, until crunchy and lightly browned.

Here were my ratios: 3 1/2 cups bread crumbs, 1 teaspoon each of garlic salt and Italian seasoning, 1/2 teaspoon sage. These will of course vary by the amount of bread crumbs you have on hand and your personal palate. The possibilities are infinite!

I used the finished product to make eggplant parmesan last night (recipe coming) and stored the remainder in one of my beloved jars. What’s your favorite way to use leftover bread? 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Seasoned Bread Crumbs

    • Yes! Tuchus is one of my favorite words! (My friend Anna refers to her tuchus as her “biscuits” which I find hilarious.)

      I always eat the end pieces too…expect on my Ezekiel bread. The crust is kind of dry. But bread crumbs are supposed to be dry. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Cheater’s Eggplant Parmesan |

  2. Pingback: Tomato Pie Remix | The Veggie Vore

  3. Pingback: The “Greek Chick” Burger |

  4. Pingback: On Tap for Meatless Monday: Fresh Summer Corn Tart |

Leave a Reply

