Chocolate Covered Cherry Yogurt Mix-In

Did anyone else get sucked into the one-day sale on cherries at Whole Foods last week? I mean–at $1.99/pound they were something like 75% off. And they had a team member dressed up like George Washington encouraging me to taste the sweet little things.

I bought too many cherries, I cannot tell a lie.

Two and half pounds later (only $5!) I am swimming in stone fruit. This gives me full rights to experiment in the kitchen. May I present to you, experiment #1?

This is one of my happy accidents. The recipe started as a stab at an energy bite. I discovered quickly that dried cherries might work in that application, but the raw version is far too juicy. I mixed my planned ingredients together and landed on more of a syrup.

That’s when it occurred to me: “Veggie, you love flavored yogurt, but never buy it because of the added sugar. Here’s an opportunity to create all natural cherry yogurt.”

Instead of fruit on the bottom, make your own flavor and mix it in from the top. I’m enchanted. I may never eat plain Greek yogurt again.

Chocolate Covered Cherry Yogurt Mix-In

1/4 cup raw cashews

3 dates

10 cherries, pitted.

1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder

stevia, to taste

*Add the cashews and dates to a food processor or high speed blender. Process to a fine meal.

*Add the cherries and protein powder, pulsing until well incorporated. You should have a dark brown syrup with a few cherry chunks.

*Add one tablespoon of the syrup to flavor a 6 oz container. Mix in stevia, if a sweeter yogurt is desired. One batch of the syrup will flavor 2 cups of yogurt.

What’s your favorite way to spice up plain yogurt? And what fruit or veggie have you bought far too much of lately?

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Cherry Yogurt Mix-In

  1. Mmm! Brilliant idea. A little bit of cherry goes a long way here.

    OK, ready for a tummy ache? I can eat 2 1/2 pounds of cherries in a few days. “A lot” of cherries to me would be about 4+ pounds. 😉 Yep, I spend much of July/August sick at my stomach. But by February, I’ll be craving them again!

  2. Pingback: “Clean Out the Fridge” Cherry Chutney | The Veggie Vore

Leave a Reply

