Waste not, Watermelon Margaritas.

I’m over at The Magic City Post today, dishing about my trip to Norwood Market at the Trolley Stop. I left you hanging…I bet you’re wondering what I bought?

An enormous, juicy watermelon, which I immediately commenced hacking.

*stabbing watermelon is strangely therapeutic.

I remembered why we only buy watermelon once a year. That stuff is prolific! For only $6, Snowman the farmer sent me away with a “tight” melon that sounded hollow when thumped.

Back home, I cussed girthy watermelon while cutting 5 gallon-size storage bags of cubes. Clearly, that’s too much for our family of two. Waste not! I went with my favorite tactic, freezing the heck out of it. Here’s how to use the icy treasures:

Frozen Watermelon Margaritas

2 cups cubed watermelon, frozen on a cookie sheet

1/4 fresh lime juice (about 1 big lime)

1/2 tablespoon orange juice concentrate

1 cup coconut water

1/4 cup tequila

1 tablespoon stevia, or to taste

*Add all ingredients to the blender and…you know…blend! You’ll have tall drinks for two.

What I love about my watermelon margarita: Absolutely no added sugar! This tastes so much like the concoctions I love at the Mexican restaurants, minus the tooth rotting/headache capacity present in most frozen drinks.

Bonus: leave the tequila out and call this a post workout recovery drink. Unless you like to drink after the gym. In which case I will not judge you.

What’s your favorite way to use frozen fruit? Do you have a go-to margarita recipe? Bottoms up!

4 thoughts on “Waste not, Watermelon Margaritas.

Leave a Reply

