Costa Rican Mixology: The Mojito

Before we left the resort in Costa Rica, I did what any normal food blogger would do. I took pictures of drink menus–section by section–so I could replicate the concoctions at home.

Since these were posted at the swim up bars and I was fully clothed, I had to do some manuevering. Vore hid in a corner as I stepped on top of the bar and walked over to a place where I could get a good shot. Don’t believe me? See for yourself:

What? It was 8 a.m. No one was actually sitting at the bar.

Here are the most interesting combos I gathered, just for you: 

  • Peach Spritzer: White wine, peach liquor, Seven Up
  • Pura Vida: Cacique, triple sec, pineapple and orange juice, grenadine
  • Oasis: Cacique, amaretto, cranberry, passion fruit juice
  • Pineapple mojito: guaro, pineapple juice, mint leaves, basil, sugar, soda
  • Asian mojito: guaro, mint leaves, basil, fresh ginger, sour mix, soda
  • Coconut mojito: guaro, mint leaves, coconut water, sour mix
  • Costa Rican caipirinha: Cacique, lime, sugar
  • Dirty Monkey: creme de cacao, golden cream liquor, rum, coconut cream, milk

You’ll notice a theme here: “guaro” or “cacique” is in pretty much everything. Am I the only person who’d never heard of these? Let me enlighten you, courtesy of Wikipedia.

Guaro is the name of a kind of liquor in many places in South and Central America. It is a clear liquor made from sugar cane, and has a slightly sweeter taste than comparable liquors.

Cacique Guaro is a brand of guaro produced by Fábrica Nacional de Licores or “FANAL.” The Cacique Guaro is a sugar cane liquor of high purity and is the best selling distilled spirit in Costa Rica.

Knowledge is power!

I had every intention of buying a couple of bottles of this at the airport, but apparently Liberia is the one airport in the world that doesn’t do duty free alcohol. Coffee–sure–but no booze. Hear my plea, Costa Rica: sell liquor at the gate!

Fortunately I had plenty of cocktails at the resort and am privy to the taste of guaro. It’s not the same, but I maintain that rum, also a bi-product of sugar cane, makes a fine substitute.

Asian Mojito for One

10 large mint leaves, chopped/muddled/otherwise maimed

1 tablespoon lime juice

2 tablespoons rum, more if you had a bad day

1/2 cup ginger ale

1/2 cup sparkling water

ice

*Muddle the mint in the bottom of a highball glass. I used the bottom of a shot glass to do this. Very resourceful.

*Add in the lime juice, rum, ginger ale and sparkling water. Stir, then top with ice.

*Serve with a straw, so you don’t get mint on your lips. That’s not cute.

This little cocktail is super light and clean. The ginger ale replaces both the sour mix and the fresh ginger, which has a touch too much zing for my taste. They go down a little too easy. Beware.

5 thoughts on “Costa Rican Mixology: The Mojito

  1. Oh I recognize the sign from the Westin. I was upset I had forgotten to take a picture of the menu, to much fun.
    Got a laugh when u posted no one at the bar at 8:00, I tried and was refused a drink until 10:00 a.m.; was upset b/c I was on vacation!! Thanks for u posting!

      • I only see the picture of the “Rincon Tico” drinks and not the one of the “Dirty Monkey” 😛 YUMMY….When the bartender made the dirty monkey drink he put a whole banana in it. Do you happen to have a picture of the section w/ the Dirty Monkey??? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

