Figgsin’ To Have Breakfast.

I have a master’s degree in English Rhetoric and Composition. Sounds fancy. It pains my father that, despite my education, I still say “I’m fixin’ to ____” on a regular basis. He corrects me every time. If you had ever heard his gentlemanly, t-h-i-c-k Southern drawl, you would find this as hilarious as I do. Hey Dad: I’m fixin’ to write a post about fixin’ figs!

Moving along…Let’s talk about the chain of events that led to a fabulous Saturday breakfast. Yesterday, I went to Whole Foods in search of fruit. Sadly, gone are the days of juicy peaches and plump blueberries. I can take respite knowing fig season is upon us. A pint of Black Missions found its way into my basket.

Then, in a moment of serendipity, I went home and posted the following tweet:

Cinnamon is magical. ow.ly/dJcJx

A few minutes later, my friend Ben (remember him? Mr. EZ Tofu Press?) replied like so:

@BrittBook yes…i took some figs and pan fried them yesterday with honey and LOTs of cinnamon!!!

I was inspired! I had to pan fry some of my figs with breakfast this morning. Here was the plan: I made a batch of Vore’s Favorite Weekend Oats. Then I topped them with some fantabulous figs:

Coconut/Honey Pan-Fried Figs

5 black mission figs, sliced into quarters

1/2 tsp. coconut oil

1/2 tbsp. unsweetened coconut, finely shredded (I used this.)

1 tsp. local honey

a good sprinkle of cinnamon

*Melt the coconut oil in a small nonstick skillet over medium high heat.

*Add your figs and sauté for a minute or two.

*Shake on the coconut, sir and sauté for a moment more.

*Drizzle the honey on top, stir and continue to sauté until your figs and coconut are golden.

*Sprinkle with cinnamon and serve.

I added a few chopped walnuts to my bowl, then ate every last bite! This topping was delicious on the oats, but I can only imagine what would happen if you poured it over vanilla ice cream. Swoon! Happy fig season, y’all!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Figgsin’ To Have Breakfast.

Leave a Reply

