Teasy’s Mar-TEA-ni Shake Method.

Class, I’d like you to meet Marshall.

{ This is the part where you give an exuberant, “Hi, Marshall!” }

Marshall owns a company called Teasy Teas. He’s from Birmingham, but he ventured off to New England for a while. After 14 cold winters, Marshall decided it was high time to get back to the Heart of Dixie. I’m over at The Magic City Post today, telling you all about that journey. Here, I thought it would be a blast to talk iced tea, a Southern specialty.

Last week, Marshall and I met up at Homewood’s Hart and Soul, his newest cafe customer, for a tasting. He made me three fabulous cups:

It was hard to choose a favorite. They are all so different and wonderful! So instead of focusing on a flavor, I’m going to fill you in a method. Want to know how Marshall makes loose leaf iced tea? Hint: it’s all in the shaker!

That’s right, friends. Marshall treats his tea like a cocktail. That’s my kind of beverage!

Here’s how it’s done:

  1. Bring water to a boil, then add loose tea leaves directly to the pot. Marshall recommends 2 teaspoons tea to one cup water. That’s 1/2 cup tea for a gallon of concentrate.
  2. Reduce the heat to a simmer and allow the tea to steep for 3-5 minutes.
  3. Pour the liquid through a mesh strainer to remove the tea leaves. If you’re into sweetener, now is the time to add it.
  4. Add ice to a martini shaker. Pour the desired amount of tea in and shake like crazy.
  5. Pour your delicious iced tea over fresh ice and enjoy!

That sounds easy enough, but can Veggie do it? You know I had to try. Marshall sent me home with prizes: Watermelon, Almond Delight, Peppermint Pat-Tea and Vitalize. I decided to make a concentrate from both the Watermelon and the Almond Delight.

I added 1/4 cup loose leaf tea to 4 cups boiling water. I steeped for 4 minutes (the magic in between number!), strained and added one tablespoon of stevia to get my mix sweet, but not tooooooo sweet.

I’m proud to report that I’m sipping a glass of perfectly balanced iced tea as we speak! Giving the tea a good shake “shocks” the beverage, intensifying the flavors. When it reaches your glass, the ice melts into the concentrate so it’s just the perfect strength. No watered down, boring iced tea for this girl!

I have great visions for the remaining concentrate. Add to almond milk for a latte? Use it to spice up a recipe? I might just splash a little alcohol into that iced tea shaker tonight. Would you blame me, really?

2 thoughts on “Teasy’s Mar-TEA-ni Shake Method.

  1. Pingback: VeggieVore | Teasy Tea Blog

Leave a Reply

