Black Magic Bars.

Tis the season for all things dark and scary. Voodoo, ghosts, graveyards, etc., etc. In the midst of all this spooky talk, I have a confession:

I don’t like Halloween. 

There. I said it. I should qualify that statement by saying that I adore costumes and any excuse for a party. But I have zero interest in skeletons, bats or anything that jumps out and spooks me. Vore tried to turn a scary movie on last night and I squashed that plan in a hurry. Why would I choose to be frightened? Insanity!

The food aspect of Halloween? Now that is something I can get behind! I’m not the world’s largest candy eater, but I ❤ a baked good.

In the spirit of my least favorite holiday, I made a little hocus-pocus in the kitchen using the ultimate Halloween ingredient: pumpkin! I loaded these protein bars down with nutrient dense fruits, grains and even a little black magic. (That’s my code word for molasses!)

According to my calculations, these bars are about 155 calories, 7.5 grams of good fat and 9 grams of protein. The sugar is in check at a meager 8 grams. The bars are moist, spicy and delicious. If you like a sweeter bar, add in a tablespoon or two of brown sugar or stevia. Happy haunting!

Black Magic Bars

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup vanilla flavored brown rice protein powder

1/4 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut (I use this.)

1/4 cup flax meal

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon arrowroot starch

2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

8 dried figs, stems removed

3/4 cup canned pumpkin puree

1 tablespoon coconut butter

3 tablespoons black strap molasses

2 eggs

1/4 cup finely diced walnuts

This is a “dump it in the food processor” kind of recipe. Ready? Here we go:

 

*Add the oats to a food processor and pulse for a few seconds, until the oats are getting close to a flour, but still a little chunky.

 

 

 

*Add the protein powder, coconut, flax, baking powder, arrowroot and pumpkin pie spice. Pulse two or three times to combine.

 

 

*Add the remaining ingredients and process until everything is well combined and the figs are down to little chunks. Stir in the walnuts by hand.

 

 

 

*Add the batter to a 8 count mini-loaf pan.(I think an 8×8 pan would work.) Bake at 350 for 18-20 minutes. Allow them to cool in the pan, then enjoy! Store leftovers in the fridge.

5 thoughts on “Black Magic Bars.

  1. Great stuff, especially if you dislike the holiday with such vengeance 😛
    Coconut butter sounds interesting, I have used coconut cream or coconut oil in the past but never the butter.
    Thanks for the recipe will try it out soon
    🙂

Leave a Reply

