Vegan Beet Root Spread

Not too long ago, I arrived in my office to find this:

photo[1]

Well hello, there! Justinn is forever bringing me treats from her CSA box, so much so that I’ve taken to calling her my Hippy Godmother. (Never mind that she’s way younger than me!) Fabulous veggie treats just appear!

This particular week, I got 1/2 a cabbage, turnips and some delicious beet pesto.

That pesto! The jewel tone. The depth of flavor. I was smitten.

Fast forward a couple of weeks, when my uncle brought BAGS of pecans from his farm. What to do with the excess? A riff on that yummy pesto, obviously.

Beet Pesto

Isn’t it just gorgeous? This combo of pecan, roasted beets, basil and salt was straight up amazing. It was just the right touch for this sandwich: egg white, Daiya, beet spread and avocado on toasted Ezekiel bread.

Sandwich!

I was super-stoked to take a taste from my batch to Justinn. I mentioned that it was sweeter than the version she gave me and we compared ingredients. Turns out, she added lemon and garlic to hers. In retrospect, that’s pretty standard pesto stuff. Without it, I don’t think my version gets to be called “pesto,” but it’s a delicious spread for sure!

Beet Gift

Vegan Beet Root Spread

1/2 cup pecan halves

1 cup roasted beets

1/4 cup basil leaves, loosely packed

1/4 teaspoon salt

Dash of black pepper

*Preheat the oven to 350. Place the pecans in a single layer on a cookie sheet and toast for 8-10 minutes. Watch these like a hawk! There is a fine line between toasty and burnt.

*Throw the rest of your ingredients in a high speed blender or food processor and blend away until super smooth.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Beet Root Spread

  1. Your pesto was AMAZING! I really like the basil in it, I am going to do that next time for sure. I ate my ration on a grilled cheese with goat cheese (one of my participants made it for me! Awesome, right?), spinach/kolhrabi greens, and a dash of nutritional yeast for giggles. Served with a side salad with sorghum vinaigrette (new favorite in the Overton house)! And no, I did not share!

Leave a Reply

