Trash-to-Treasure Vegetable Broth

veg broth

The notion of homemade vegetable broth sounds a little too high maintenance for me. But last weekend, as I was cutting the ribbing out of my lacinatno kale, I decided to hang on to it. Why not give it a try, just for the sake of experimentation?

I pulled out a gallon size freezer bag, and started filling it with all my veggie trash. Pretty much all my trimmings went in there–peels, cut out parts and stuff that was just a little past its prime. (I left out potatoes, as they seemed too starchy for this purpose.)

I kept the bag in the fridge, and added to it throughout the week. I easily filled an entire bag! Here’s what I ended up with:

  • the outer layer of onions, minus the papery stuff
  • extra shallot
  • broccoli stems
  • red and green pepper caps
  • mushroom bottoms
  • green beans
  • carrots
  • Brussells sprout bottoms and rogue leaves
  • kale stems
  • sweet potato ends and peels

Here’s how I made the broth:

  • Add 10 cups of water to a large soup pot
  • Dump in a gallon sized freezer of “veggie trash” and a tablespoon of sea salt
  • Bring it to a low boil, then set your timer for an hour
  • Strain your mushy veggies and toss them. You’ll be left with a lovely broth that tastes far superior to the canned stuff. The yield is about 8 cups. 

I must say, I went into this thinking I’d make vegetable broth one time–just to say I had–and never bother with it again. Now I’m wondering if I will every buy bullion cubes or canned broth again. Better taste + minimal effort + essentially free? Sign me up.

Another bonus: This recipe gives you the ultimate control. Don’t like celery? Me either. Leave it out! On a low sodium diet? Decrease or omit the salt! See where I’m going here? The possibilities are endless.

7 thoughts on “Trash-to-Treasure Vegetable Broth

  1. Pingback: Indian Spiced Spring Soup | real nutritious living

  2. Pingback: What Do I Feed a Vegetarian for Dinner? Part 1 |

  3. Pingback: Fool Your Picky Eaters! Hide Their Veggies. |

  4. Pingback: Un-Brie-Lievable Root Veggie Mashers |

  5. Pingback: Savory Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup | real nutritious living

Leave a Reply

