Black Bean and Corn Roasted Salsa

Folks, Vore and I have an addiction. A local supermarket carries a black bean and corn roasted salsa in their fresh case. We buy multiple containers at a time and go through it at an alarming rate.

There are a few problems: 1) Only one store carries it, and it’s often out of the way to shop there. 2) Unpronounceable ingredients show up on the list. 3) At $3.99 a container, it’s expensive!

What’s a girl to do? Make up a copycat recipe, obviously.

salsa for vore

Black Bean and Corn Roasted Salsa

1/2 cup fresh cilantro–mostly leaves–packed

2 teaspoons minced garlic

1/2 cup minced red onion

1 tablespoon minced jalapeño

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 can fire roasted tomatoes, well drained

1/2 cup black beans

1/2 cup corn kernels

the juice of 1 lime

Get out your food processor. Add the cilantro, garlic, red onion, jalapeño and salt. Pulse a few times until your cilantro is chopped up.

Add the tomatoes. Pulse a few times until all ingredients are well combined and the tomatoes are broken into smaller chunks. The size is up to you, but I wouldn’t get this too smooth. You don’t want sauce!

Carefully stir in the black beans, corn and lime juice. Pour into a serving bowl and enjoy!

*Special thanks to Vore for serving as my hand model.

8 thoughts on “Black Bean and Corn Roasted Salsa

  1. All right, so apparently I really couldn’t wait to try this recipe! 😉 I was going to make it next week, but I ended up making it after work tonight… oh my goodness!! So good. And I have enough cilantro left I might have to make it again when it’s gone.
    I’ll put my pictures up later. Thanks for a great recipe!

  2. Pingback: Black Bean and Corn Roasted Salsa | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

