The “Greek Chick” Burger

Greek Chick sized

Veggie burger, how I love thee. Let me count the ways. You’re full of protein. You’re simple to prepare. You help me blend with meat-eaters at a cookout…

I used to buy the packaged kind religiously. I actually wrote an angry letter to MorningStar Farms when they changed the formula on my favorite black bean burger. **I acknowledge this scores crazy points. Please don’t judge too harshly.**

Not long after, I discovered there is more to a product label than nutrition facts. The ingredient list on most freezer aisle burgers is scary long, with far too many unpronouceables.

The good news is, it’s easy to make your own veggie burgers. They are less expensive and far less processed. And heck–they taste better! I’m a threat to make a double batch, then freeze the leftovers for quick meals down the road. Here’s a Greek version that I’ve been loving lately.

The Greek Chick Burger

2 slices of bread (I used Ezekiel heels)

2 cups cooked chickpeas

1/2 cup red onion, diced

1/2 cup carrot, diced

1/2 cup feta cheese crumbles

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

1/4 cup basil leaves, loosely packed

1 large egg

1 tablespoon minced garlic

2 teaspoons no-MSG Greek seasoning

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Greek Chick slider

Greek Chick Slider, get in my belly!

Get out your food processor! Add the bread, and pulse until its good and crumbly.

Add the remaining ingredients–yep, all of them–to the processor. Run the processor on a low setting, until everything combines. You should have a paste, but it doesn’t need to be completely smooth. A few chunks of beans and carrots are lovely!

Form into patties. I made 9 medium sliders, but the size is really up to you.

Heat a skillet over medium high heat. Spray with olive oil, then add about half of your patties. Cook 3-4 minutes on each side, until lightly browned.

I enjoy my burgers on a bun or as a salad topper. They’re also great as a component of a vegetable plate. Enjoy!

One thought on “The “Greek Chick” Burger

Leave a Reply

