Tropical Basil Vinaigrette

Dressing Lo-Res

Is that a creamy tropical drink? Why no, friends. It’s a bright, fresh salad dressing, just begging to become your summer favorite.

As I mentioned last week, I am entirely obsessed with orange oil. It’s beyond easy to make, and it adds a little something extra to whatever you’re cooking.

I set out to make a dressing putting the delicious oil to work, adding miso as the salt component. Have you tried this Japanese goodie? As Naomi Duguid writes for Cooking Light, miso is for more than soup:

Like soy sauce, (miso) is a fermented food…It gives a satisfying depth, the flavor that we know by the Japanese word “umami.”

Unami? Sign me up!

I am smitten with the final product, a vinaigrette with a twist. I’m so smitten, in fact, I went through two jars last week. Oops. This vinaigrette is lightly creamy, fruity and chock full of fermented goodness. Use it on salads, tossed with whole grains or as a fruit and veggie dip. I’m convinced I’ll be making this all summer long!

Orange Basil Miso Vinaigrette

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

1/4 cup orange oil

1 tablespoon white miso

2 teaspoons honey

1/4 cup basil

2 tablespoons minced shallot

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Place all the ingredients in a blender or mini food processor and whirl them together until well combined.

Store leftovers in a mason jar, and give it a little shake before using. I store mine in the fridge, then pull it out a few minutes before I’m going to use it.

One thought on “Tropical Basil Vinaigrette

  1. Pingback: Orange Cranberry Whole Grain Salad |

Leave a Reply

