GIVEAWAY: Cooking Light’s Lighten Up, America! Cookbook

People, I love a cookbook. When I get my hands on a new one, I read it cover to cover like a novel. I’m thinking this is not normal? A few of my most loved/used cookbooks include:

Super Natural Every Day

Peas and Thank You

The All New Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook

The Bread Baker’s Apprentice

The Best of Cooking Light

Frank Stitt’s Bottega Favorita

I might have a new favorite to add to the list. A few weeks back, Cooking Light sent me their new cookbook, Lighten Up, America! to try. The premise is super fun. Allison Fishman Task traveled the country finding regional specialties, then headed back to the kitchen to slash calories, fat and sugar.

_BBR1591 effect

Once again, I read it cover to cover like a weirdo. What an engaging book! It’s scattered with stories about delicacies from all over the United States and great pictures of the original treats in action. I had a blast seeing if I had tried or even heard of the combinations.

In an effort to give the book a fair review (beyond pretty pictures and captivating back stories) I decided to try three recipes: St. Louis Butter Cake, Broccoli-Cheddar Soup and Butternut Squash Agrodolce, subbing acorn squash. We loved all three.

The butter cake was super decadent and the squash had a unique flavor profile. Vinegar + honey? Yes, please! The soup was probably our favorite. It gets a rich, creamy texture from potatoes. In short, I found the cookbook delightful, and the recipes easy to follow. The results were fabulous!

Broccoli

To win a copy for yourself, please reply to this post by midnight CST on 11/2/13, telling me your favorite food from your region or state. I’ll use random number generator to pick a winner and notify you by Monday.

Now then, to get this party started, my favorite Southern foods all seem to involve fried cornmeal! I love fried green tomatoes and hushpuppies the most. I also adore buttermilk biscuits, potato salad, and black eyed peas + cornbread. I could keep going forever, but I’ll suffice it to say that my cooking and tastes are definitely heavily influenced by my Alabama roots. Now then, your turn! What’s your favorite food from home? 

11 thoughts on “GIVEAWAY: Cooking Light’s Lighten Up, America! Cookbook

  1. Loco moco…hamburger and an over easy egg placed on rice and smothered with gravy. So ono-licious (delicious), as we say here in Hawaii.

  2. Birmingham, Alabama here and forget the southern stereotypes. I love the grapeleaves and kibbee served at the annual middle east festival also available at Pita Stop, the seasonal corn salad at Hot n Hot, the greek lamb kabobs at Dodiyo’s, the Italian Wedding soup at Brio’s, etc. etc. p.s. re the friend green toms. I slice the tom thickly, brush with evoo, lightly salt and pepper and grill them on an iron grill pan. They are amazing.

  3. I’m from Chicago, so most of the time it is pizza, awesome Chicago pizza. But Chicago has a large Polish population and my family is Polish, and when I am craving comfort food, it is some wonderful kielbasa (Polish sausage) and pierogi (stuffed dumplings). Yum!

  4. Fried green tomatoes! And I don’t know if pound cake is really a regional thing, but that’s another one of my loves. (Warmed up with peanut butter, of course….) 🙂

Leave a Reply

