6 Photography Tips + GIVEAWAY!

Photography Book

Let me be the first to say that I am in no way qualified to be giving tips on photography. Mine is marginal at best. But that doesn’t mean I don’t want to improve!

I work in a creative business. While my end of the bargain is writing, I often partner with photographers to make the necessary visuals happen. For me, it’s a highlight of the job. I love concepting marketing material, discussing ideas with a designer and photographer, then collaborating to make a great piece.

photo-3I feel like I’ve long been able to spot good photography, but not necessarily create it for myself. Last winter, I took the first step by purchasing a Nikon D600, which is WAY over my amateur head. The idea was to grow into it, learning about photography beyond the point-and-shoot.

Well…Sadly, I haven’t done much. Most of the problem is time. I usually style and finish taking food shots in less than 5 minutes. Tisk, tisk. I also need to take more steps toward shooting in the raw and creativity in general.

That’s why I was super stoked when the folks at Cooking Light contacted me, asking if I would read/review The Unforgettable Photograph by George Lange, with CL editor Scott Mowbray. Heck yeah, I’ll take a chance to learn something about photography!

So far, I’m enchanted with the book. There are 228 “tips, ideas and secrets,” each with an explanation, photo, and–my favorite–the camera settings used to accomplish the shot. I LOVE that the authors break a complex art down into much more manageable pieces. Here are 6 easy things I’d like to try with my food shots:

  1. Move into a tight, simple angle.
  2. Move around, 90 degrees.
  3. Avoid the flash.
  4. Know where the best light in your house is.
  5. Try an out-of-focus foreground.
  6. Make your own simple backdrops.

Those sound easy enough, right? Once I master those, I’ll move on to a handful more, and so on. Now then, for the good part. I have an extra copy of The Unforgettable Photograph to give away!

In the comments section below, tell me your favorite subject to photograph. Enter by midnight on December 16, and I will randomly pick a winner!

Good luck and happy photographing!

9 thoughts on “6 Photography Tips + GIVEAWAY!

    • Hey Sheree! I love that you are moving the camera close to things most people run from! All is well in our world. I’m rounding out in the front, Santa Claus style. I hope finals went well for you and you’re settling in for a nice break.

  1. You already know my fave subject to photograph = those that don’t want their picture taken lol 🙂 You know I would LOVE to win this one. Not much into cooking lol but obsessed w/photography and I have zero skill!! 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great book! I love to photograph food as well as city scenes during our travels. My husband is the real pro, but I take the occasional “framer” too! Would love to learn ways to improve!

  3. Pingback: Fool Your Picky Eaters! Hide Their Veggies. |

Leave a Reply

