Cheater’s Eggplant Parmesan

Most times we go the slow food route. Sometimes we use the microwave. Not to worry, you’re in a judgement free zone. And THIS was made in the microwave.

Fake it till you make it, right?

Year’s ago, while sifting through my Gran’s recipe file, I found a newspaper clipping for Microwave Eggplant Parmesan. I think I first made this in college? I’d love to give credit for the original recipe I started from, but this was before The Birmingham News had an online version. (Dating myself!)

Nonetheless, this easy peasy recipe has been a favorite. It’s got all the flavor you’d expect from restaurant eggplant parm, minus the grease that comes from frying. Try it…I dare you. We won’t tell anyone dinner came together in only 30 minutes. Our little secret.

Cheater’s Eggplant Parmesan (make 4 enormous servings)

4 smallish-medium eggplants, sliced to 1/2 inch thickness

1/4 cup egg whites

1 cup seasoned breadcrumbs

1 tablespoon cornmeal

2 cups pasta sauce

1 cup shredded mozzarella

1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan

*Combine breadcrumbs and cornmeal on a sheet of parchment paper. Pour egg whites into a small bowl.

*Dip each eggplant slice in egg, then coat in the breadcrumb mixture. Arrange in a 7 x 11 microwave proof dish, forming two layers.

*Cover the dish with a paper towel, and microwave on high for 12 minutes.

*Spoon sauce over the eggplant, then layer with cheeses.

*Cook for another 5 minutes in the microwave OR 3 minutes + 2 minutes under the broiler.

Then you get to eat this…

It should be noted that I went back for seconds. Do you have an elegant microwave recipe? 

2 thoughts on “Cheater’s Eggplant Parmesan

Leave a comment